The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council."Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% increase in vi

According to the present memo, positive changes were observed in the town of Seaside Vista. These changes are believed to be caused by the opening of a new municipal golf course and a hotel. It is proposed that a similar program should be implemented in Brindleburg.

During the past two years, an increased number of visitors, loan applications in local banks, and the amount of tax money collected were reported in the Seaside Vista town. However, each of these might have been a result of some additional factors. Namely, new visitors might have been attracted by an advertisement campaign, opening of any other recreation facilities in town, or limited access to one of the nearest popular city. New dominating political party of the town, change in the local economic laws directed at business and conditions that local banks set for loans might also have affected the number of new business loan applications during the last year. The memo does not provide any information regarding the tax system of the town. For example, the amount of tax money collected may have increased simply as a result of increased tax percentage. Finally, it is hard to evaluate the degree of the tax money increase as there is no information provided regarding the condition of the Seaside Vista roads and bridges, and therefore, expenses for their improvement.

Taking into consideration the Brindleburg city, it is highly uncertain that building a similar hotel and opening a new municipal golf course may improve the situation in the city. It should be questioned, what kind of entertainment the city has got already. For instance, no high interest in a new golf course would be present if the city already has some. Furthermore, climate, location of the city, the economic situation might not be a suitable platform for a new hotel. As a result, building a new hotel may cause more expenses, rather than revenue, which might lead to bankruptcy. Ultimately, the tax system of the city should be mentioned and evaluated to assure possible increase in the tax revenue.

Overall, the memo does require more detail regarding both the situation in the Seaside Vista town and the city of Brindleburd before taking this proposal into further consideration.