The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. The best way to improve Hopewell's economy, and generate additional tax revenues, is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

The intention to improve economy and tax revenues is justifiable. However, the writer's suggestion to copy the methods adopted in the nearby town of ocean view is questionable from the arguments. In other words, learning others' successful experiences ostensibly may not boost, or maybe obstruct, the prosperity of the town of Hopewill.

First of all, despite the fact that tourism increased after the construction of a new municipal golf course and resort hotel, we cannot assert the facility construction accounts for the boom of tourism. As a matter of fact, the logical chain may be reversed. In other words, it is the upswing of tourism that stimulates city designers to build new facilities. The underlying cause of the boom may lie in other fields, such as new amusement parks, advanced technological museum. if the mayor squanders the money in the incorrect places, the construction of indispensable facilities may be hindered, and thus, the speculation of a new golf course and the hotel is futile.

Further, granted the construction of a new golf course and resort hotel do promote tourism, we may be not necessarily capable of utilizing tourism to uphold the economy. perhaps the town of Hopewill lacks resources to become a famous cultural or sightseeing spot. Vain attempts to attract tourists is useless. Unless there are intriguing tourism resources available, it is cursory to duplicate others' ideas.

Finally, even if the tourism resources are abundant, we need still to evaluate whether a new golf course and resort hotel is capable of increase the tourists. before building such facilities, the city governors are obliged to figure out the reason that the town is unattractive at present. The reason that tourists seldomly visit the town may be not a lack of gulf course or resort hotal. perhaps the promulgation is limited, or the transportation is inconvenient, or the tourism resources are not distinctive and sort of vapid. Hastily copying will solve neither of these potential problems. Hence, the mayor needs further investigation on the cause of the current economic problem.

Briefly speaking, the mayor's idea to boost the economy is immature and requires more profound thoughts. before the mayor unravels the underlying course of ocean view's tourism prosperity and understands the current obstacles of promoting the economy in Hopewell, I will remain skeptical about his resolution.