The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

The memo contains a spurious claim which states that the opening of a new hobby shop in South-Eastern Grilldon would rake in profits for the Hobco chain of hobby shops. Though some of its argument may seem plausible, a cautious peruse would bring out the fallacies and assumptions the consultancy has incorporated while drafting the memo.

Firstly, let us take into account the survey conducted by the New Ventures Consulting, which states that 88 percent of people who "responded" would welcome the opening of a new hobby store. We should know the answer, demographically, to whether these people who are surveyed are concentrated in a specific region of southeastern Grilldon or are scattered throughout the entire region. If the surveyed people are uniformly distributed over the entire area, then only we can begin to proclaim the veracity of the survey; otherwise, the surveyed people may be only a concentrated bunch of people and want a hobby store as they may have no source for a hobby exclusively in their vicinity. Thus, it may be misleading for Hobco, as the only customers to the new store would be these bunch of people. In addition to it, we also need to ask the number of people who have been surveyed, as to determine whether these many people would be sufficient to earn a profit, which surpasses the monetary investment needed to build a new store.

Even if we assume the survey to be an accurate representation of the people of southeastern Grilldon, we move on to the next statistics that has been mentioned which implies that the hobby business has grown by 300 percent in Grilldon. Questions need to be answered on what categorizes as "hobby business" and only if this categorization matches with the same interests as the Hobco, Inc. , only then it would be feasible to consider these statistics.

Probably, the most important answer needed is which part of Grilldon is being mentioned or which part of Grilldon has the highest growth and which has the least. It is also uncertain whether the number "300 percent" is an average of all regions in Grilldon or the highest spike observed in one specific region of Grilldon. It will be highly misleading if a new store is sanctioned based on this statistic, which actually pointed to surge in hobby business in say, northwestern Grilldon.

Similar questions may be asked regarding the next conclusion, which states that Grilldon comprises of "retirees" and would have "ample time to devote to hobbies". Questions need to be asked regarding which specific regions are these retirees living in abundance. It may be possible that the region having the maximum increase in "hobby business" might be native to these "retirees", leaving out the need for a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Also, we need an answer whether these retirees might be willing to invest their time in the hobbies provided by the Hobco hobby shop.

Finally, one of the most important question that needs to be answered is why wasn't any hobby shop built yet in the southeastern region of Grilldon. We have seen that there is a 300 percent increase in hobby business atleast in some parts of Grilldon, so why not a single hobby shop has been opened in southeastern Grillson yet? It might be possible that due to its isolated nature, no hobby ventures found it feasible to build a shop in this region. It might be possible that there is a rule prevalent in this region restricting some hobby practices or it may be possible that the property rates in this region, would be higher than other regions for building a shop. This vital question needs to be primarily asked by the Hobco chain. Thus, the above questions are mandatory to be asked, otherwise it would be dangerous to invest in the new Hobco shop based on the facts mentioned in the memo.