The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument put forth in the memo claims that the cheese store chain must discontinue stocking a number of varieties of imported cheese in order to improve profits wing primarily to a supposed increased demand for domestic cheese. The argument stated in this way reveals examples of faith and tends to provide a distorted view of the situation. There is a dearth of actual facts and figures from the survey mentioned in the memo highlighting the increased demand of domestic cheese. The conclusions drawn from the argument are based on assumptions which are not substantiated by actual evidence leading to an unconvincing claim.

First, the argument is tends to base the future actions of the company on satistics from the last year. There is no reason to believe that the five best-selling cheese the previous year would continue to do sales of the same magnitude in the coming year. To illustrate this , consider the example of a sharp drop in the demand of Xbox 360, a generation defining gaming console as soon as the Playstation 4 was announced. Thus, the author simply ignores the role that external factors may play on the demand and hence sale of the domestic cheese. The argument would have been strengthened had the author provided accurate projections of the demand of cheese from previous year to the next year.

Second, the author tends to base his entire case on a survey. There are no explicit details stating either the number nor the pattern preference of the subscribers taht participated in the survey. There is no consideration given to the possibility that the subscribers may have predisposition towards domestic cheese leading to biased results of the survey.Consider the example of the poll surveys conducted to predict the Delhi Chief Minister. The veteran Kiran Bedi was heavily favored and won most poll surveys indicating a victory by huge margin. The results, however, were entirely the opposite wherein she suffered a massive defeat at the hands of a new political contender in Arvind Kejriwal. Thus authenticity of a survey plays a huge role in determining the outcome and even then it is not safe to base one's decision on them.

Finally, the argument must answer two important questions in order to be taken seriously and invoke adherence. The first being whether the results of a localised survey can be trusted enough to implement the proposed strategy in all the stores making up the chain throughout United States? The second being is there a guranteed consequence of reduction in expenses without a significant decline in demand by limiting inventory. Without, convincing answers to the above questions, the argument is open to debate and lacks depth. There may be proponents in favor of the move but the argument does not provide enought evidence to do them adequate justice.

In conclusion, the argument is wanting as demonstrated by the above mentioned reasons. It would have been much coherent and clear had the author provided sufficient proof to back his claims. In order to evaluate an argument in totality, there must be a meticulous analysis of alll the contributing factors that shape the conclusion. In this particular case, however, the author glosses over important notions that are required to discern whether the argument is borne out of solid proof or mere wishful thinking.