The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The statement by the President of Bower Builders relies heavily on the result of the nationwide survey and on a superficial understanding of the sales of Domus Construction. On careful observation, one can notice a number of assumptions being made that have led the President to his conclusion.

The customer base of Domus Construction has not been taken into consideration. It has simply been observed that the houses being sold at higher and quicker rates have large family rooms and kitchens. Based on this fact, a conclusion has been drawn. This could be a mere coincidence. They should firstly analyze the details of the customers, their disposable incomes, size of the family, and other such relevant features. Maybe Domus only targets a certain class of people.

They have not considered that the survey dataset could be skewed- the respondents could mostly be people who have enough money to spend on state-of-the-art kitchens and lavish family rooms. That would consist of the wealthy and the upper middle class. Or they could simply be smaller families with lesser expenses per head. Majority of the population does not fall into this category, and many families can only afford to spend enough to have a roof over their heads, and aren’t particularly concerned with the size of their rooms. And again, this might not be the target customer base for Domus.

There is also the assumption that their profits will increase if they also increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all their homes. In doing so, they would definitely not be catering to all kinds of families and their preferences, and could hence, lose out on those sales. It could also be that their designs are inherently inferior to those of Domus Constructions, and the size of the rooms isn’t the issue, causing Domus to overshadow Bower Builders in their area.

Given the implications of the assumptions being made in this memo from the President, the company should do a thorough market analysis and customer satisfaction survey before finalizing on its plan of action.