The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company."During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products

In the memo, the vice president of Butler Manufacturing argues that the company should shorten each of work shifts by one hour so that their employees can rest and improve Butler Manufacturing’s safety. He provides recent study from the government reveals deprivation of fatigue and sleep among employees can affect on-the-job accidents. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of evidence lead me to question the validity.

First, the vice president needs to supplement specific evidence on Butler Manufacturing’s 30% more on-the-job accidents than Panoply Industries last year. It is quite possible that in the last year, Butler Manufacturing decreased in profit because of adverse economy last year, so the company might have decided to reduce the number of employee. However, economy is getting better this year, which indicates that Butler would hire more people and it might help to reduce the number of accidents. Also, 30% increase may not be substantial because most products by Butler Manufacturing’s are really dangerous such as ships, cars and machines. Compared to other company in same kinds, Butler’s increase is marginal numbers.

Secondly, the vice president needs to add more evidence on the argument that the company should provide employees with more rest time according to the recent government survey that fatigue and sleep deprivation is the major reason for the accidents. However, the president does not provide any information about survey participants and term. The participants might older than the employee in Butler’s whose ages are between 20 and 30 years old, which means that the survey results would not be generalized in the Butler’s company. In addition, the difference incidents between Panoply Industries and Butler might be but because of their type of work, not because of their rest time. Panoply Industries’s workers usually make clothes that do not require any harmful or dangerous process, but in Butler, workers usually produce cars that should use harmful devices. Hence, it might be difficult to compare two companies.

Lastly, more solid evidence needed to the validity of argument that the Butler’s should shorten each of work shifts by one hour in order to improve Butler’s safety record by leading employees to rest more. However, reducing work shifts by one hour does not mean that employees rest more than before. After quitting from work, they might be spending much time on watching television whole night, or hanging out with their friends, which means that they may not rest in their free time as not same as the company expected. In addition, even if they are adequately rested because of work shifts by one hour, it would not be directly connected to the increase in safety record. To be safe, employees should know how to protect themselves from dangerous devices or how to wear safety clothes adequately in the work process. This indicates that the policy of requisite safety education might be more effective than the decision related with work shifts.

In conclusion, the vice president’ statement that the Butler Manufacturing should shorten work shifts by one hour to guarantee employees’ rest is invalid. To bolster the argument, he needs to reconsider other possibilities of high number of job accidents.