The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the vice president of Quiot Manufacturing recommends that its factory should shorten the work shift by one hour in order to reduce the occurrence of on-the-job accidents in his/her factory. To justify the recommendations, the vice president points out that panoply industries plant, a company close to the vice president’s company, had 30 percent less on-the-job accidents than the vice president’s company, and their work shift was one hour shorter than the vice president’s company; The vice president also cites some experts’ opinion that fatigue and sleep deprivation was one of the main causes of on-the-job accidents, which may seem reasonable at first glance. With a series of unwarranted and poor assumptions and holes, however, this argument fails to be wholly persuasive as it stands.

A paramount problem involved in this recommendation is that the vice president simply assumes that fatigue and sleep deprivation were the main cause of the vice president’s company’s higher on-the-job accidents. without providing credible evidence, the vice president apparently cannot substantiate this crucial assumption, though this is entirely possible. it is much likely that the vice president’s company’s on-the-job accidents were caused by its employees’ lack of safety training on how to operate its complicated and modern equipment installed in its company. An appropriate example is not far to seek, if its workers have not received working safety training that is required by the government, then it is likely that its workers will get hurt by its complicated and difficult-to-operate machines. In order to strengthen his/her argument, the author should provide more reliable evidence and have to rule out these and other possible alternative explanations. For example, if the arguer can convince me that its company’s higher on-the-job accidents were mainly caused by workers’ fatigue and sleep deprivation, this argument will be significantly strengthened.

Additionally, it is not safe to unfairly assume without substantiation that Quiot Manufacturing’s 30 percent fewer on-the-job accidents than the vice president’s company are significant enough to change its work shift. In this case, we may wonder whether the actual difference on-the-job-accidents between these two companies is not that significant as it seemed possible or not. For example, if the vice president’s company’s on-the-job accidents happened last year is 4 cases, and the panoply industries plant happened 3 cases of on-the-job accidents during the last year and the actual difference between 3 and 4 is not significant enough to change its work shift. Thus, the author should supply more convincing evidence to confirm this assumption. otherwise, there is little chance that this unsolid assumption can be bolstered.

Finally, even if the foregoing assumptions on which the conclusion is based on are reasonable, the argument merely relies on the assumption that if the vice president’s company shorten its work shift by one hour its employees will spend the time on sleeping and not on other activities and we are not informed any pervasive and professional evidence. In fact, it could turn out to be the case, however, it will be questionable if its workers use this extra time on other activities such as playing online games, online shopping, and partying instead of sleeping. if so, anyone would be reluctant to accept the arguer’s recommendation.

To sum up, there are, as I have presented, many obvious flaws that need to be addressed before the proposal can be seriously scrutinized. otherwise, any impetuous implementation of this recommendation would be unlikely to have the desired consequences.