The following appeared in a memorandum from the general manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. The switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The general manager of KNOW radio station proposes a switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news in order to attract listeners and secure KNOW radio's future. However, his proposal is rife with loop holes, faulty assumptions and logical fallacies.

Firstly, the general manager cites a dramatic increase in the population of people over fifty years of age, whom he assumes to have an aversion to rock-and-roll music without presenting any substantial facts or evidence. Merely this fact cannot cause a decline in the number of average listeners of the radio station. A valid and reliable survey must be conducted in order to cement this idea that older people will prefer to listen news over rock-and-roll music.

Secondly, the manager presents the fact that the local music stores have reported a decrease in sales of recorded. This doesn't directly correlate with the decline in listeners of rock-and-roll music. The decline in records sales can be attributed to numerous factors like the current economic condition of the state and people's willingness to spend money on music records. Perhaps people prefer to buy music electronically or stream for music on the internet. Hence, a direct correlation cannot be established between decreased sales at the local music store and a decrease in the number of listeners of KNOW radio station.

Furthermore, the general manager in his memorandum writes that continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. This does not necessarily mean that KNOW radio station can also expect similar results. Moreover, the manager doesn't explicitly defines what he means by being successful, neither does he take into account the variance in the demographics and interests of people of distinct cites.

Even though the general manager presents a well meaning proposal in his memorandum, he fails to make a cogent and persuasive case that substituting rock-and-roll music for 24-hour news will consequently produce an increase in listeners.