The following appeared in a memorandum issued by a large city's council on the arts.

“In a recent citywide poll, fifteen percent more residents said that they watch television programs about the visual arts than was the case in a poll conducted five years ago. During these past five years, the number of people visiting our city's art museums has increased by a similar percentage. Since the corporate funding that supports public television, where most of the visual arts programs appear, is now being threatened with severe cuts, we can expect that attendance at our city's art museums will also start to decrease. Thus some of the city's funds for supporting the arts should be reallocated to public television.”

Discuss how logically persuasive you find the above argument. In presenting your point of view, analyze the sort of reasoning used and supporting evidence. In addition, state what further evidence, if any, would make the argument more sound and convincing or would make you better able to evaluate its conclusion.

The argument that "reduction in corporate funding that supports public television will have a direct impact on city's art museum attendance" is flawed at many levels. I would like to highlight a few key issues/unstated assumptions that need to be further qualified in order to evaluate this argument accurately -

1. First off, the argument assumes that increase in attendance at city's art museums has a direct correlation with television programs about visual arts. This may only be a coincidence -e.g. incresed attendance at art museums in the last five years may be due to renovated facilities and/or new artwork. If this is indeed the case, we can be assured that attendance at art museums will not get impacted due to reduction in corporate funding support extended to public television.

2. Further, corporate funding cuts may not necessarily impact the art programs on public television. Given that art programs are quite popular among the city's residents, it is quite likely that other programs with lower viewership/popularity may undergo reduction in air-time but funding support required for the production and airing of the more popular visual arts shows may remain intact.

3. Moreover, the argument suggests that given the causal relationship between television art shows and attendance at art museums, some of city's funds supporting the arts should be reallocated to public television. This suggestion may have detrimental impact on city's art museums. After evaluating the assumptions stated above, if it is indeed proved that there is not direct relationship between public television viewing and attendance at art museums, reduction in funds for supporting arts will have a negative impact on upkeep/maintenance of the art museums which may indeed end up impacting attendance.

Even if we assume that public television does help to a certain extent in raising residents' awareness and interest levels about visual arts, it will still not be a prudent decision to redirect the funds to public television unless the direct causal relationship between the two is proved.

In summary, City's officials need to carry out careful evaluation of the various unstated assumptions and qualify them through facts, in order to reach an accurate conclusion on whether or not it makes sense to reallocate some of the funds supporting arts to public television.