The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station."To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth i

In a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station, He mentioned that “our owner has decided that WWAC must change from its rock -music format” to reverse a decline in listener numbers. Owner decided to change the format to a news and talk format, a form of radio, because it is gaining popularity in our area. Another option could switch to recorded music, but not adopted as past trend showed a decline trend in the recorded music. However, following evidences will be required to evaluate the argument.

Firstly, the argument mentioned that past trend showed the decline in local sales of recorded music. Therefore, it might be the possibility that decline in listener number of rock music format is due to this reason only. Hence, listener number can be increase by converting to rock-music format on radio rather than to a news and talk fomat, a form of radio. If the above discussed point is true, then it will not have desired result on the WWAC radio station. Hence, information about this factor need to be collect to evaluate the argument.

Secondly, the argument also noted that a news and talk format is increasingly popular in an area. Along with that, it is also important to know how many competitors are working in an area. Perhaps it might be the case that too many radio station are working in the given area then there will be high competition in that sector. Therefore, number of station operating in an area need to be identified to evaluate the argument.

Finally, the argument also mentioned that people moving to the area after their retirement. Since WWAC planning to change the format for these resident, WWAC must analyze the stay duration of these retired population. It might be possible that these resident have atendency to vist regularly to their children house, to other country , and to recreational visit.IF this is the case, then change to new format will not have any trivial affect.

In conclusion, to evaluate decision of WWAC owner to change the format, above mentioned points also need to examine. If the above mentioned evidences are true, then it will have negative impact on the decision.