The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore a chain of movie rental stores quot In order to stop the recent decline in our profits we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore 039 s ten movie rental stores Since we ar

According to a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, it is stated that they should decrease operating expenses at Movies Galore in order to augment their profitability. This conclusion is based on several arguments including these methods increasing business efficiency in Marston and their company which is well-known for special bargains instead of raising rental costs. Before this recommendation is properly evaluated, some queries should be elucidated.

First of all, are Movies Galore and Marston roughly comparable? It is quite easy to differentiate the distinct characteristics between both places. Therefore, it is quite difficult to generalize and predict similarities. For example, stores at Marston could gain success because they are in central areas, while branches at Marston can be rural areas. If either has merit, the argument drawn in the original conclusion could be significantly hampered.

Secondly, is there a strong association between reducing operating time and eliminating all obsolete movies and increasing revenue? It can be temporary situation, thus there can be various reasons causing more profits in stories in Marston. For example, the improvement of standard of living or the high density of population in this place could result in this case. If the above is true, the argument do not hold water.

Finally, the company, well-known in special bargains, does not mean that raising the rental prices could not increase the profits. Because the revenue can come from various resources, and there are many ways to attract customers to contribute to improving profits. Indeed, this reason can damage substantially the credibility of the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on myriad of unwarranted assumptions. If the author could resolve these questions and offer more evidence, it will be possible to fully evaluate the proposed recommendation to cut off operating expenses of stores at Movies Galore.