The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In his memorandum, the owner of Movie Galore avers that in order to run his company more profitable it would be necessary to implement shorter opening hours and a reduced number of films on offer rather than raining film rental prices. He bases his claim on the experiences he made with implementing similar measures in one of his stores last month and that his company was famous for its low prices. However, before the argument can be properly evaluated, the assumptions made by the author should be examined more closely.

First, he assumes that the positive outcome of changes made in one of his stores in downtown Marston can easily be transferred to all of his other stores. However, this assumption is entirely based on the fact that all of his stores are roughly comparable concerning their location or other factors. For instance, while this particular store is located downtown, several other of his stores could be located within residential areas. While it seems sensible to close down his store in Marston already at 6:00 P.M. as most of the daily commuters have then left downtown for their homes, in other stores in different locations it might be possible that most of the customers frequent the store in the hours between 6:00 P.M. and 9:00 P.M. Furthermore, it could, for example, be possible that movies older than five years are not popular in the store in Marston at all, while there might be a high demand for them in others. If either of these scenarios has merit, the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Second, he assumes that an increase in Movie Galore’s movie-rental prices would jeopardize their reputation for offering the best deals available. However, he does not take into account, that for instance, movie prices went up over the past few years while he hasn’t adapted his comparable old prices to the market. Therefore, Movie Galore could still boast their special bargains even with a new calculation of rental prices. Moreover, it could also be possible, that those incredibly cheap prices are a reason for customers to rent their favourite movies somewhere else as they link those special bargains with a bad quality of the respective movies. Thus, if the above is true, the argument does not hold water.

Third, the author claims that the effects of the changes made last month in the store in Marston are of indefinite duration. However, the opposite could be the case. It might be possible that those changes were implemented in a different period of time, for example, the school holidays. Hence the operational circumstances of that particular store would be incomparable to other time of the year. As a result, if this is the case, the argument collapses.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the owner of Movie Galore is able to provide more detailed information about the assumptions he makes in his memorandum and perhaps conducts a systematic research study, then it will be possible to determine whether his mentioned changes would indeed lead to a reduction of operating costs and therefore a more profitable company.