The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores."In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental store

The argument here present by owner of Movies Galore states that their rental company should reduce operating costs to recover the declining profit of the company. This argument fails to maintain several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To satisfy the conclusion, the owners’ reason is that the company already implemented the practice of reducing operation cost in 1 store out of 10 stores of the company, which showed the positive result. However, careful scrutiny reveals that it provides little justification to the authors’ conclusion. Hence, the argument is considered incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that Movies Galore is famous for special bargains and raising the rental prices is not a creditable way to enhance profits. This is merely and the assumption made without solid ground. The argument does not explain well that why profit is decreasing actually. There can be possibility that the overall market of the Movie Rental realm is decreasing due to the latest digital technology. There can also be possibility that their stores are not up to date with new movie train in the name of giving cheaper service. However, the argument would have been better if it provide the overall scenario of that time frame.

Secondly, the owner argues here that one, out of their ten stores, which was located in downtown Marston, had decreased its operating cost by closing 6:00 PM instead of 9:00 PM and by escaping all movies released more than five years ago, regained profit. This again is a weak analogy presented by the argument and it does not demonstrate the clear correlation between the reducing hours and increasing profit. The argument fails to explain the overall socio-economic conditions of the people living nearby all stores are same or not. In some cities the stores are found busy at night and in some cities it is busy at evening time. The detail data of average free time of the people of individual city would help to strengthen the argument. The owner also fails to explain what if the costumers of that city are older film lover. If the arguer had provided the record of selling of different types of movies of each store, it would be helpful to think positively on his standpoint.

Moreover, the arguer trait of taking all stores as a one and implementing same idea to reverse profit is not corroborate by own evidences and explanations. The owners’ statement raises some skeptical questions. For example, what are the main causes of declining profit? Are the causes same for each store? How actually operating cost can be lowered? Decreasing service hour would not hamper the reputation of the company? What are the overall global markets of Rental Movie? If the overall global market is decreasing why don’t they try to switch their business? Without convincing answer to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the owners’ argument is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In Sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the owner must provide clear and more concrete information about the socioeconomic aspect of people of nearby stores and overall global market trend of Movie Rental.