The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.Argument Topic :“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores

The owner of Movies Galore claims that in order to increase the proft, all Movies Galore stores must close by 6:00 P.M. and the stock size should be reduced by eliminating movies older than five years while keeping the prices the same. In order to evlauate the validity of this recommendation, more information is needed with respect to the peak selling hours, the selling price of other rental agencies and the movie genere and likes of the customers of various branches.

The owner of Moives Galore says that instead of increasing the prices, the shops of various Movies Galore branches should close three hours earlier than their usual time. This step is taken without providing any information about the peak times during which the customers visit the shops'. If most of them wish to watch movies at night and rent videos in the evening, then the loss might increase as sales will drop. Also, the price of video rentals could require updation as the shop allows customers to bargain. The price can be increased if it has remained the same for a long time. In making this decision, the prices of other video rental agencies can be taken into consideration. In order to strengthen the recommendation, more details regarding the sales during 6:00 P.M. to 9:00 P.M. and the peak selling time are also required.

Another unjust assumption is that the stock size should be reduced by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. The decision of eliminating stock should be made after considering the interest of the customers. Moreover, it will differ from one shop to another. If the shop is in an upscale downtown, there will be more demand for the latest movies, while some other branches might have more demand for older movies. In order to bolster the recommendation, the owner must conduct a survey regarding the choice of movies preffered by customers of various shops to have an idea about which movies need to be eliminted from the stock.

All in all, as the recommendation is flawed due to multiple reasons, it fails to make a convincing case that the Movies Galore stores profit will increase.