the following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, rising our rental prices in not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other 9 Movies Galore stores."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The first question is needed to answer is that why making the profit of the company has fallen? This is the key to solve the problem. The writer does not imply to this. Why as soon as the business is plummeting, they decide to reduce working hours, and in general, cut their current expenditures? Is it not any other solutions to this problem? Whether other competitors struggling with this situation or is this only happened for his company? Should he consider a little increase in prices, but still adhere to his main strategy, which is the special bargaining? If the stores close at 6 PM how many customers he will lose? All of these questions as well as myriad number of unstated questions should be respond to make a strategic decision for this issue.

For solving a problem, there are steps need to be taken to figure out and tackle the issue. First, analyze the market state. The owner of Movies Galore should consult with experts and see why this happened to his company. Maybe, his staff are not trained enough to treat well with customers, and despite their cheap prices, customers would rather to rent movies from other suppliers in the market. A survey from customers sounds reasonable. They can analyze and find the problem. Second, they need to design a strategy to acquire their market position back, otherwise they will lose and become eliminated from the market. It casts light on the problem, therefore, they would step forward audaciously, because it is based on reasons and facts derived from an empirical study.

Considering closing at 6 PM sound ridiculous as many people at that time finish their works and go home, take a shower and go out to spend some time and maybe rent a movie at a reasonable price! This may reduce the current expenses somewhat, but definitely, a store which closes at 6PM will lose many of its customers and ruins its brand reputation among people. They also should do watchdog other activists in the market and be informed about their profit-making. If others are increasing their prices, there is no need to close branches earlier, they can increase their prices too but keep the prices as low as possible.

However, the strategy that the owner of movie Galore recommends sounds smart. As movie making industry is a vibrant market and myriad of movies releasing every year, it sounds reasonable to clear the stock of movies older than 5 years, and reduce the warehouse expenses. He is worry about the reputation of the company, so he shouldn’t adopt most of his recommendations. Instead, he can use the recommendations in the essay to make his place better. Furthermore, he needs to know that two mind better than one, consulting with experts should not be forget about. So, he should draw an analogy between his recommendations and those of provided by the essay to evaluate his thoughts. Clearly, many of his thoughts are impractical and would hurt his company’s reputation.