The following appeared in a memorandum from

the planning department of an electric power

company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners

are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the

same time, manufacturers are now marketing many

home appliances, such as refrigerators and air

conditioners, that are almost twice as energy

efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new

technologies for better home insulation and passive

solar heating are readily available to reduce the

energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total

demand for electricity in our area will not increase—

and may decline slightly. Since our three electric

generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of

new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated

and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be

sure to explain how the argument depends on these

assumptions and what the implications are for the

argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument the author proposes that constructing new generating plants will be unnecessary. To validate this conclusion, the author points out that recent surveys indicate that home owners are eager to conserve energy and now many manufacturers are marketing home appliances which are nearly twice as energy efficient as the ones sold before. As further support for the argument, the author notes that the three generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met their needs. However, the argument is problematic in several respects, rendering the argument unconvincing as it stands. Therefore, the author should evaluate the assumptions to establish the argument strongly.

First of all, whether the surveys mentioned at the beginning of the argument have sufficiently representative sample is dubious. Without some exact and reliable data, the assumption that people are eager to conserve energy will be untenable. It is entirely possible that the surveys only investigate a few people or they deliberately choose people who are willing to save energy as the only sample of the survey. Hence, the results of the survey are unsubstantiated. Even if home owners are increasingly eager to save energy, whether they will actually take actions in daily lives is unwarranted. It is highly likely for those who claimed to conserve energy to give up due to a myriad of factors like inconvenience or something else. Therefore, it is hasty to assume that the demand for electricity will not increase because people are eager to save energy under these scenarios.

The author also unfairly assumes that the demand for electricity will not rise up since the manufactures are now marketing many home appliances which are twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. However, the author should appraise the assumption. Will people actually buy those energy-saving appliances? Not exactly. It is highly probable that they may not buy the new products on account of the high prices. Even though they buy home appliances which can help conserve energy<span style="font-size: 1.1em;">, it is not ascertained the electricity consumption will not increase under the condition where people buy a lot more home appliances than before to satisfy their demand. As a result, the energy consumption may even increase </span>rather than<span style="font-size: 1.1em;"> decrease.</span><br>

Finally, the author mentions that the three electricity generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met their needs. Then he concludes that the construction of new generating plants will be unnecessary. However, the assumption is unpersuasive if the author cannot eliminate the possibilities which may weaken the it. While the three plants could meet people’s needs in the past two decades, it does not mean that they can always satisfy the demand in the future without building new plants. For instance, it is possible that the population may boost dramatically, which may cause the increase of the use of electronic devices and the increasing number of factories and shopping malls as well as companies to satisfy the climbing needs. In the end, the consumption of electricity may even raise at a high speed. Hence, new electric generating plants should be established.

To sum up, the arguer fails to substantiate his claim that new construction of plants is not necessary because he bases on the tenuous assumptions mentioned before. To strengthen the argument, the author must consider the possible scenarios exhaustively to better assess the assumptions.