The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Health Naturally concludes in his memorandum that opening a health store in Plainsville would be a profitable venture. He states the increase in sales of sporting and exercise equipment, number health club memberships and the introduction of an exercise program for school kids lend support for his argument. However, the evidence provided is not cogent and depends on faulty assumptions.

Firstly, an increase in the sales of running shoes and exercise equipment does not necessarily imply that the residents would be interested in health food. As they adopt a fitter lifestyle they may prefer to supplant their diets with homemade and organic alternatives rather than consuming products available at a chain store. If this proves to be true, setting up a health food store would not assure profitability.

Additionally, the increase in membership of the local health club may actually serve as competition to the opening of a health store. We are not certain about the facilities offered by the club, but if they provide meal plans and healthy food options most members would choose to avail that facility over the offerings of a small food store chain.

The introduction of 'Fitness for Life' for school kids does not translate into having a new generation of customers. Since the children are being forced into the program there is a chance of them disliking it and not wanting to pursue anything related to exercise. Their financial power is also limited and there is no assurance that they will continue being residents of Plainsville into adulthood. Thus using them as an argument for profitability is fallacious.

In conclusion, the argument is false and is weakened by multiple unwarranted assumptions. Further evidence has to be provided in order to make an informed decision. A survey of the residents detailing their fitness needs will be helpful in this regard.