The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors:

“Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

Techcorporation may be a new and intruging company, but it is critical that more imformation be gathered in order to determine whether an investment in their company will be worthwhile for investors.

First, the claim argues that Techcorporation has proven to compete with the current satellite provider. This argument does not provide any insight into the competitive advantage of the new satellite, if there is any. Without understanding even a basic-level technological basis to the new product, there cannot be a full assessment of the product in relation to the current satellite provider's. Are they the same product, just with different brands? Does Techcorporation have some new trademark technology that will allow for better service? To fully make a claim about the value of investing in Techcorporation, more information on the developed sateelite technology that has been approved should be shared to understand the competitive advantage of the product as it gets set to enter a market with a strong competitor.

Another lacking piece of information is a further market analyses. The claim notes that the industry is a monopoly, but there is information missing on why this may be true. If there are massive barriers to entry into this market that have prevented other satellite companies from competiting with the current satellite provider, how can it be assured that Techcorporation will not fall victim to the same difficulties? For example, if the current satellite provider has a monopoly on the industry because of their exclusive rights to the largest satellite production factory in a region, this may change the prognosis of Techcorprations anticipated success. An analysis must be conducted around the history of other satellite companies in the industry, as well as the structures in place that have allowed Techcorporation's competition to flourish into a monopoly, to ensure that Techcorporation can succeed in this established market.

Thirdly, the claim argues that the venture of Techcorporation will be profitable for those who invest now in the company. More information is needed to quantify these profits so that investors can get a comprehensive picture of the returns of their investment, and the risks. For example, if an investment is estimated to have only a minor return that is achieved 10 years after Techcorporation becomes profitable, an investors willingness may be different than if comprehensive analyses from outside sources predict a doubling of their investment in the first 6 months. While it may be true that the investment will be profitable, information is needed to ascertain the degree of this profit, who will benefit, and the timeline of the benefit to the investors. Without this financial assessment on the sake of the investors, a decision about the worth of an investment in Techcorporation cannot be made.

Techcorporation may have a newly approved technology, but in order to fully understand the potential for profit for its investors, the company must acquire new and comprehensive information to paint the full picture.