The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper."In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the s

Two new factories have opened in Dillton with more than 1,000 employees after the implementation of policies, such as the decreased corporate tax and generous relocation grants to any company that move to Dillton. However, the unemployment rate did not change. The author of the newspaper article asserts that the only explanation of this situation is that factories hire out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents. It is indeed a plausible explanation, but certainly not the only one. In following situations unemployment rate can still be unchanged with two new factories hiring more than 1,000 Dillton residents.

The first possibility is that some residents in Dillton who had a job before recently became unemployed. Even if the two new factories hired Dillton residents, the overall number of residents who do not have a job remain constant. In the article, we know that Dillton city hall spend huge amount of money on attracting new factories, it could lead to budget cutting down in other fields, such as education and welfare. Public schools would fire teachers due to low budget. People who received reduced welfare would spend less money in grocery stores and restaurants, thus these business would have less income and customers, which could also lead to employees getting fired. Those people who get fired in scenarios above, such as teachers, retail cashiers, and chiefs could contribute to the overall number of unemployment population. In this case, the unemployment rate keep still even if the two new factories hired Dillton residents.

The second possibility is that the number of unemployed population decreased but at the same time the whole number of Dillton residents also declined, making the unemployment rate constant. It is possible that the new factories which hired local people but made the area not suitable to live anymore. Factories can make a place impossible to live in many ways, such as air pollution, water pollution, noises and so on. If this is the case, residents as well as other business providing services for local residents could have been immigrated out of Dillton, such as shopping malls, movie theaters and restaurants. In this case, the numerator, unemployed population, and the denominator, the overall population, decrease at the same time, making the unemployment rate constant.

In conclusion, even though the author propose a reasonable explanation for the unchanged unemployment rate, it is certainly not the only explanation. Other possibilities such increased unemployment population in other business and the overall population decline can also cause this situation with new factories hiring local people.