The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The statement in the question argues to follow the footstep of another theatre to make changes in order to attract more people. However the argument presented is too simple and should be thoroughly crtiqued before making any decision.

The fact that Apex Theatre, which opened last year had latest equipments and offered best facilities including video arcade, latest sound system does not implicate that Rialto Theatre should follow its footstep. Being outside the city, Apex theatre needed to invest to make itself attractive and better than its competitor in downtown, which is within convenient distance for most of people. Rialto enjoys prime location and should not copy Apex blindly. People might not prefer Rialto because of other reasons like lack of parking space, congestion of road or prefer to watch movies in streaming sites like Netflix. Rialto theatre management or those responsible to take decisions need to analyse what arethe reasons for low footfall in the theatre, instead of emulating competitor theatre and hope for a miracle.

The survey mentioned in the argument could be questioned, since the information provided is not enough to be assured of its credibility and representation. It could be possible that people from not-so-affluent were surveyed and in this case it is not representative of large region which is expected from such surveys. So, the conclusion that 85 percent people cannot afford to go for movies more than 5 times per year is true for relatively-poor people. It can be possible that rich people want to spend money to watch movies in Rialto theatre, but avoid going there because of other reasons like lack of restaurants nearby or traffic in downtown

Apart from questionable represenstation in terms of area in which the survey was carried, it might be possible that few people were surveyed, like 20 or 50 and results were extrapolated to make it more convincing. In such cases, the conclusion provided by survey would misguide the person or commmittee and take wrong decisions. The survey should be thoroghly evaluated before considering it worthwhile to guide the management.

The argument presented is not cogent and should be analysed before making any decisions. If any decision is made out of whim, it could lead to waste of money and further exacerbate the situation.