The following appeared as a part of a column in a popular magazine:

"The producers of the forthcoming movie 3003 will be most likely to maximize their profits if they are willing to pay Robin Good several million dollars to star in it - even though that amount is far more than any other person involved with the movie will make. After all, Robin has in the past been paid a similar amount to work in several films that were financially successful"

According to the magazine, the producers of a forthcoming movie would be expecting to maximise their profits, if they were to cast Robin Good in it. It is further mentioned that the several million dollars that they pay Robin Good, would be compensated by the expected financial success of the movie, which has been seen in the past for his other movies. The reasoning in the argument has quite a few flaws.

Firstly, it is assumed that they would maximise their profits if they case Robin in the movie. This assumption made in the argument isn’t backed up with any kind of data or study of the market and lacks the supporting base. There can be a case wherein, the viewers need a change and want to see new talent on screen. This talent might even come at a cheaper price that Robin, thus increasing the profits then.

Secondly, the argument brings up the past financial success of the movies that the actor was cast in and assumes that the same trend would continue. However, this might not necessarily be that case. The past financial success could have been when Robin was at the peak of his acting career and there were only a few that could match his skills. Now the people might not resonate well with his acting as the viewers demographics have changed. There could also be a situation where, genre of the movies in the past could be different from the current movie, so the financial success can’t be compared

Thirdly, the film industry is currently moving in a very budget oriented scene. If such a huge amount is paid to just one of the casts, it could mean compromising other important aspects of the movie like the special effects, the movie equipments, the other specialists in the respective field who demand a high price. So, even after having a star like Robin on screen, the movie might fall short on those aspects.

The argument could have been convincing if more facts and details about the movie, the genre, the actor - Robin and the budget would have been mentioned. In the light of all the above mentioned facts, it can be concluded that the argument remains unconvincing.