The following appeared as part of an editorial in a weekly newsmagazine:

“Historically, most of this country’s engineers have come from our universities; recently,

however, our university-age population has begun to shrink, and decreasing enrollments

in our high schools clearly show that this drop in numbers will continue throughout the

remainder of the decade. Consequently, our nation will soon be facing a shortage of

trained engineers. If we are to remain economically competitive in the world marketplace,

then we must increase funding for education—and quickly.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc

The author of the prospoal to increase funding for education offers an interesting argument but to move forward on the proposaa requires more information and thought. While the correlation stated are probable, there may be hiddent factors that would prevent the from remainig economically ecompetitive in the world marketplace.

First, the author failed address the exact number of decrease in the population-age university. it is mentioned that the university-age populaion has begun to shrink but if we were to learn that the number of those who are going to the university for the next years decrease by under 1 percent then, there is no such reservation needed to be considered.

Second, the decrease in the of high school enrolment cannot precisely indicate the decrease in the number of those who are going pursue engineering in the country. As a matter of fact, it possible that we have fewer students in the schools but more of them are willing to study engineering in the future meaning that we will not have any shortage in supplying enineering experts in the following years.

Another factor which undermines the argument is that allocating more budget to education cannot necessarily tackle the shortage of engineering in the labor market. Suppose that all the students of the country have enrolled to the high school, then funding education not only cannot increase the number of enrollments but also it would impose irrational expenses on the shoulder of government which cause budget deficit and consequently inflation in the long-term. As a resul, this prospoal is not able to solve the competence problem of the country nor in the long-term, nor in the short-term.

In conclusion, I believe that there are various questions needed to answer before suggesting any policy by the author. The author of the proposal should conduct a elaborating survey to understand the changes in the number of students who tend to study engineering in the futute. Furthermore, the author of the proposal should have exactly mentioned how much the number of secondary students decreases in the fiture.