Since there is a decline in the birthrate in the city of Calatrava, it makes sense that the budget planning committee would be inclined to cutting the public school and athletic playing field budgets. They want to then allocate the saved money to better the lives of the said growing adult population. Although the committee’s intentions are logical, there is simply not enough information present in the argument in order to back up their proposal. There are some major gaps that need to be filled in order to ensure that their budget plans will be successful.

Although the committee claims that the birthrate has decreased by half since that of five years ago, it is unsure as to where this information is coming from. The committee does not provide a reputable source stating that this information is true. The committee also does not provide evidence about how large the birthrate was five years ago. If the birthrate five years ago was a record high, it wouldn’t necessarily be a reputable source to look to when deciding budget cuts in relation to public schools for the next ten years. There would need to be a steady decrease over the past five years. Another piece of information that is missing from the argument is evidence that public school enrollment has been decreasing steadily since the enrollment five years ago. In order for this argument to be strengthened, empirical evidence is needed on the steady birthrate decrease and public school decrease over the past five years.

The budget cuts for athletic playing fields and recreational facilities is thrown into the mix. It is entirely unclear as to why these cuts are warranted. There is no mention as to who uses these fields and facilities. It would be helpful for the committee to explain the target population of the services in order to begin thinking about budget cuts for them. It would also be helpful for the committee to explain the fields and facilities connection to the public schools. If the target population of these services was explained, then the committee would be warranted to make decisions about whether or not budget cuts would be effective. This particular budget cut is very vague and requires a lot more evidence and explanation from the committee in order to be a strong argument.

Finally, the committee states that the saved money should go to the adult population. They say that the adult population will increase. First of all, there is no evidence presented as to why the adult population is going to increase. Are more adults moving to the area? This is unknown. In order for the argument to be validated, the committee should provide evidence as to why the population is growing. We don’t know why, therefore the statement is impossible to validate. Also, if the adult population is growing, this may mean that they are bringing their children along with them, therefore refuting the entire argument as a whole.

Overall, the logic of the committee is sensical, but there is simply not enough evidence to justify it. It makes sense to cut the budget of child resources if the birthrate is going down, but there are too many factors that have been overlooked. In order to strengthen the argument at hand, the committee must first provide evidence as to exactly how the child population is decreasing and how the adult population is increasing. Without this information and evidence, the entire argument is easily refuted.