The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a tenyear budget for the city of Calatrava. "The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only onehalf that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The planning committee predicts increase in adult population in the calatrava city and thus suggests allocation of extra budget for adult facilities and programs by cutting the budget allocated to the education and children recreational facilities. The argument of the committee is presumptuous and makes sweeping conclusion even when there is lack of evidence to come to any solid conclusion.

To begin with, the committee cites the declining birth rate of the calatrava city and thus concludes that number of students enrolling to schools will decrease dramatically in next ten years. it is completely wrong on part of committee to consider that the trend of decline in birth rate will continuously follow for upcoming ten years. The committe should provide insightful scientific data that reports the population of the calatrava city for atleast next ten years. it may happen that from next year, the birth of the city starts increasing and consequently more number of students need education facilities than before. In such scenario, if budget of the education is reduced, education system in the city will collapse and create a chaos for students. also, the committee has completely overlooked many of the external factors like migration while coming to a conclusion. hence, committee should provide information as such about the current influx rate of migration to the city and also provide information whether this rate is increasing or decreasing. hence, without such evidence, any conclusion about future enrollment in schools of city is flawed.

next, the committee also suggests that the funding for athletic activities and other recreational activites should be reduced due to expected decline in number of students enrolled to school and instead diverted to make adult facilities. First of all, it is not clear whether students enrollment to school will decrease or not, and thus to base any conclusion upon this faulty premise is a big mistake and thus makes argument flawed.

At last the committee predicts that adult population in the city will increase. this claim is not backed by any evidence. The committee must provide stastics reporting total number of adult population predicted for next ten years. But the evidence that it must furnish must contain population of adults acoording to age groups. For it is possible that the committees’ plan to increase funding for adult facilities will only be useful if most of the adults are old. because, if most of the adults are middle aged it is quite possible that they will have children in near future and thus number of students enrolling to schools will automatically go up and more funding for education will be needed.

hence, in conclusion, the committee must provide warranted data predicting future birth rate of city for at least ten years, expected influx migration population in next ten years, and projected population of adults as per their age group for atleast next ten years. because, without these supporting evidence as of now, the argument of the committee if flawed and not persuasive.