The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that comprehensive urban renewal program is considerable and feasible program is based on the interchanging substandard housing area with the new several factories. The author tried to convince the reader that The newly designed program beget the decreasing in crime rate and the enhancing property tax revenues for the entire city. While the line of reasoning is somewhat persuasive, it committed Prejudiced Statistics Fallacy, Hasty Generalization Fallacy, and Confusing Cause and Effect Fallacy. Therefore is logically not sound.

First of all, the argument commits Hasty Generalization Faulty. The author made the conclusion that decreasing in the rate of crime in near of the introduced program by constructed several factories. It is possible that crime decreasing is due to the absence of habitat near the highway and abandoned housing. So, the author should address more detailed program in the city.

Second, the author failed to address increasing property tax revenues for the entire city. When the arguer tried to prove that increasing tax revenues justify parallel act in areas where opposite of city, he committed an even more serious fallacy by Prejudiced Statistics Fallacy. Rather, the author should compare the specific area people bottom line is now within the past one.

Finally, the argument potentially assumed that new program is the only factor determines the decreasing in the crime rate and the enhancing in the tax income. Actually, it may be other factors that constitute the success of these Areas. For example, the police new severe schedule in that area in relation with crime decreasing, introduce tax new litigation in relation with enhancing tax income in the entire city, and so forth. Moreover, even if the success of a new program in those areas, it does not guarantee success in a new program in the opposite of the city.

In sum, the argument is neither sound nor convincing since it overlooks many possibilities that must be addressed to strengthen its statement. If it included the items described above, it may be more strong or persuasive.