Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyone\'s life is dependent on his decision. As time goes by, the society changes continuously. So does the way that young people make decision. I definitely agree with the idea mentioned in the reading passage that unlike the youth in the past, who relied on their parents to make choice for them, the young generation today do a better job in deciding their own lives. I think this way for three reasons, which will be explored in the following essay.

To begin with, the experience and knowledge of the parents may not be beneficial to their children. It was true that young people used to depend much on their parents. Because in the past, the channels through which people got information were very limited. Facing the unknown and uncertainty, the youth had to lean on their parents, who generally had more experience and knowledge than them, to make decision for them. But nowadays, with a society that is changing more and more drastically and rapidly, the success experience and useful knowledge of the last generation may seem to be outdated and obsolete to the new generation. For example, when my parents was young, their experience was that the government arranged everyone\'s job, and a worked would never lose or change his job in this "socialist" country. Apparently, the situation is totally different now, the youth today must find job themselves, and many of them will change they jobs in their lives.

While the old generation hold old-fashioned and outmoded views, the youngsters today is a generation of the internet, who are proficient in using the internet to search and procure the most helpful and relevant information from immense amount of data online. The youngsters are capable of making better decisions based on these information. For instance, through the internet, I have learned tons of knowledge about the life of studying abroad and the way to prepare TOEFL, helping me to make decisions on these issues.

Last but not least, young people are generally more educated than their parents. For example, I have a bachelor degree, while my parents only have middle school certificates. From my point of view, a better education can lead to a better judgement; and a better judgement results in a better decisions.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that nowadays young people have better ability to decide their own lives and do not need to let their parents make judgement for them. This is because their parents always hold outdated opinions; because the youngsters master the skills in getting the information needed from the internet; and because the young generation have a better judgement result from a better education.