The following appeared on theWeb site Science News Today.“In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals w

A survey suggested that teens who have regular family lunch are less likely to engage in bad behaviors.

There comes the question of whether the sample used is representative, and many other questions.

First of all, author states that more than 5,000 adolescents were interviewed in order to draw the

conclusion that family meals decreases the likelihood of getting used to drugs and alcohol. The argument

does not clearly give the characteristics of the sample of adolescents interviewed. Indeed, the adolescents

who responded that they are not using drugs, could come from either a region where drug is not commonly

used or come from a family where control and education is strict. Thus, the socio-economic status of the

adolescent's family, the neighborhood, the type of adolescent interviewed and many other aspects is very

crucial in order for the conclusion to hold.

They also stated that family meals is associated with higher grades in school. Actually, this statement

is possibly true but might be undermined by the fact for example that the interviewed adolescent is

naturally clever. Also, higher grades could be associated with education, monitoring at home and at

school. It could also be associated with the love of work of an adolescent. An adolescent which have

frequent family meals and is not monitored or do not like school or do not study at home and is maybe

always playing videos games might perform well in class and will then not have higher grades in class.

Also, they stated that family meals increase self-esteem and lower rates of depression. Though it might

highly be possible, self-esteem could also be a natural predisposition and depression might be a leg

acquired by DNA means. Actually, self esteem could be associated with doing what one's love, and also

with economic status. If adolescents interviewed are of high economic status and are educated such that

they are free to express themselves, then finding that their self esteem is high is normal but does

not actually apply to all adolescents.

In conclusion, Having lunch with family could improve grades at school, increase self-esteem, lower depres

sion rates and keep adolescents away from drug use. But they are some cases for which having lunch with

family could not be associated with higher grades, better self-esteem and lower depression rate.