The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The author mentions very valid.But still there are few important evidences that needs to be inspected to inorder the evaluate whether road development should be prohibited or not near the edges of wetlands.

Ancient records suggested that there were millions of tufted groundhog in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. It is important here to understand the causes for decline in these numbers. Was it because of human encroaching their habitat? Or could it be because of the Darvin's theory which states 'Survival of the fittest'.?There could also be plausible explaination that over the time these tufted groundhog migrated to a different habitat which suited more to their existance in the changing times.

The argument shares an example oh how a repeal in sanctuary status of neighbouring eastern carpenteria has seen a decline in the population of sea otter. Although the exampled mentioned is worth pondering, it is important to dig deeper and understand what were the real causes of sea otter's population reduction. Was it just the revoking of sanctuary status which might or might not have lead to development of urban infrastructure around it? Or is it because of some natural calamity that the place has suffered. Migration among species for survival and food search is equally popular phenomena. It is important to assert this questions inorder to validate the relevance of the example in the context of building roads around Westland.

The local developmment is lobying to access the roads near the wetlands, which the argument considers as a threat to the region's biodiversity because it would lead to increased urbanisation near the region. Although a very valid concern, it is of importance to account for what type of road construction demands are being made by the local development body. If it is a narrow road for small vehicles to pass through so that travel becomes convinient, the biodiversity might not have large impact. Also if the local body proposes to ensure strict rules and impose heavy fines on the troublemakers, the coast can very well preserve its natural habitat. Hence it is very important to consider what is the complete proposal put forth by local development body and only then a relevan action could be chosen.

However it equally important to observe that history has taugh has, wherever industrialisation happened and brick forests were built, the natural habitat nad the biodiversity did suffer to some extent. In some cases it even lead to their extinctions like African Rhinosauras. Hence the concern mentioned in letter of the argument has its merits and connot be oversighted.

The argument mentioned though has some very valid points, it is important to consider the various evidences mentioned in the complete prespective and not look from one angle only. Only on a thorough review any decision should be made.