The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The argument seems very convincing but there are few things that are left uncertain like the number of students who are eating their lunch from the cafeteria after the change of its management to a private vendor as compared to the number of students eating lunch from cafeteria before the change, calories and fat content in the foods served by the previous cafeteria as compared to that of the lunches the students bring from home and the number of complaints they received regarding this change of cafeteria.

The argument states that students are not finding the food served by the new vendor enjoyable, but it is uncertain if there is a decline in number of students visiting the cafeteria. If there is a decline in the number of students visiting the cafeteria then there is a likelihood that the reason stated in the argument that the students are not finding the food enjoyable can be true but if the number of students visiting the cafeteria is either same or has increased then the reason may not be true as then the majority of students are preferring the food or are unaffected by this change. Hence, this is a significant point tat is to be elucidated in order to reach a conclusion.

The parent who wrote the letter seems concerned about the calorie content of the foods that the students bring for lunch but it is not stated if the calories and fat content of the food that the earlier cafeteria served was greater than that of the lunches these children bring for lunches. If this is true, then the author's argument will be true else if the calorie content of the lunches these children bring is higher than that of the food that the previous cafeteria served then the argument that the children are resorting to much unhealthier food will be false and therefore the author's conclusion that there will be serious health consequences if the new vendor is not replaced will also be false. So, this is also vital to evaluate the argument.

The argument states the concern of just one parent who claims that there are children other than his or her own prodigy who have similar concerns but it is uncertain if there are more complaints received from the parents. If there are numerous complaints from the parents regarding the same issue, then it implies that the new cafeteria vendor is a cause for concern among many parents, in this case the school authorities must definitely take appropriate action but if the number of complaints the school received is very less regarding this issue then it implies that most of the children of the school are facing no issue with this change of cafeteria, in this case the author's conclusion that there will be serious consequences if the Swift vendor is not replaced with another one will be false.

Hence, the above points need to be elucidated in order to evaluate the argument.