The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The above paragraph claims that the continued management of the Kensignton Academy cafteria by the vendor Swift Nutrition, would lead to serious health consequences for the students of the school. The supporting argument cited is that the food prepared by them has a dearth of calories and fat, which is causing students to bring their own less healthy lunches to school. Let us analyze the prediction, argument and the premise on which it is based.

First of all, the parents assume that the food is deficient in fat and calories, based on complaints from their children and their friends about a "lack of lunch options". This complaint, however needs elaboration. Is this a reference to the insipid taste of the food, or the lack of options thereof? Do they want more tasty food, or a better platter of dishes to choose from? If it is the latter, the school management could talk to the vendor to make the lunch options more eclectic. If it is the former, a thorough investigation has to be launched into the reason for the denigration in taste, and if it is indeed correlated to the lack of calories or fat. Various other reasons for the tastelessness could be poor preparation techniques, a shortage of quality raw materials such as vegetables, eggs, milk etc. at affordable prices, the preparation of dishes that do not reflect the palate of the school children and so on.

The passage mentions the indirect effect of the bland food on the children's health, as they would tend to bring their own less healthy lunch. But the food that they are bringing would be from their own homes. So if the parents were actually concerned about their pupil's health, they might consider packing healthier lunches for their children, rather than transferring the blame onto the cafeteria vendor for doing the right thing. If the latter were serving tasty oily food resplendent with fats and calories, the parents would have more cause to complain, so they might be doing the right and safer thing.

The second claim is that an urgent change in the vendor would improve the food quality and taste, hence indirectly improving the health of the students. But procuring another vendor who would have similiar or better standards of food quality and hygiene may be time-consuming and expensive to get. It would also not guarantee an immediate fillip in food taste and quality. Different vendors may also entail higher cafeterie fees levied on the students, and it has to be seen if the parents would be willing to pay such a premium.

In conclusion, the quality and taste of food in the cafeteria is of paramount importance, and the parents are within their right to complain about this. However, replacing the cafeteria vendor would be a precipituous and fallacious decision, without first allowing the school management to have a detailed discussion with Swift Nutrition, ensuring better quality food and a wider variety of options.