The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper."The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at

The letter predicts that omitting non resident members from city welfare committee will result in making Oak City a better place to live and work. The author seems disappointed by recent meetings of the committee. His concern seems valid that foolish objections might hinder the decision making process, thus delaying important decisions. Although his recommendation to drop non resident members of Oak City from committee is based on arguments that are flawed.

To begin with, instead of omitting author could have suggested replacing such members who hinder the advise committee's process of taking decisions. People from different places have different perspectives. This helps in bringing in new and generalized ideas. It is important for council to consider problems of each group, independent of whether they live or only commute to work from neighboring cities. Complete removal of non residents might blind the committee on problems that commuters face. Having a good mix of people from all classes of society will only help in making the city a better place. We cant ignore the fact that only author might think that objections raised by such members were non-intellectual. There is no evidence that full committee agrees to such statement.

Moreover, people who are residents of neighboring cities may not have complete understanding of how the politics and business work in Oak City. But they can provide a valuable insight on how politics and business work in their city. This will only help having more choice for making decisions. Adapting from tested and well implemented methods from neighboring cities to Oak City, in similar situations, will help committee save time and money. which surely would have been wasted mean while the committee reinvented the wheel. A difference in perspectives of both members resident and non-resident is artless expectation. May that's why the structure of committee has been designed so.

In addition, Oak City residents might be paying taxes but commuters bring business to city in terms of small transactions. They definitely pay for tickets, food, entertainment etc which they consume mean while they are in the city. This provides lower classes with jobs and business. However, restricting committee membership to residents only will take away the wisdom that people from different neighboring area bring. Like, the neighboring cities might be facing problems which Oak City may tend to encounter in near future.

In conclusion, the member's letter can be correct about the hindrance observed in the function of committee. But the recommendation has to stand down. Solid evidence or a vote of whole committee is missing on removal of non-residents from the committee.