The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States Only about 2 percent of customers have complai

According to the memorandum, the business manager believes that the replacement impose little impact on customers because of few complaints. Thus, he thought that customers can’t distinguish butter from margarine or the word ‘butter’ is used to refer to the both. However, there are still some other explanations that can explain the case. Only if these explanations are proved to be unreliable, the argument would be reasonable.

Only 2 percent of customers have complained when they were given margarine. However, it doesn’t mean that 98 percent of customers are satisfied with the situation. As we know, sometimes people may not get angry or ask for immediate change if their requirements are not satisfied. Customers may complain about it in their mind and decide not to go to the restaurant in the future. Or maybe some people just ignore that, the replacement is just not important, so they don’t pay attention to it or ask for butter again. If this is the case, the argument that most people are happy with the change would do not hold.

In addition, maybe most customers think the behaviour was the mistake made by servers. In that case, they may not complain it immediately or ask for a change. It is also possible that when they found it was margarine , they have already used it. For some people, it is not polite to ask servers to give butter again in that situation. If the case was that, people might not complain about the replacement. But it didn’t mean that customers can’t distinguish butter from margarine nor they used the word ‘butter’ to refer butter and margarine.

It is likely that the overall service in the restaurant is quite good so the customers tend to be complain less. The replacement is just a small change in food, so maybe most customers regard the overall service as the most important factor in the eating experience. Or maybe there is a task that servers need to keep customer satisfaction, so they might give customers small gifts to maintain the satisfaction rate.

Overall speaking, there are still many explanations that can rival the manager’s argument. Only if these explanations mentioned above are proved to be flawed, the argument would be seen as strong enough. Otherwise, the information is not sufficient to support the explanation made by the manager.