Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take

In some countries, students do not need to pay tuition and can enjoy a free university education. There are some doubts about whether governments should pass policies to support the free university education. In my opinion, governments in developed countries should support the students while developing countries which facing poverty should focus more on other essential issues.

While it is easy to understand why governments should help students who can’t afford to pay the tuition, I don’t argue that they should go to university without tuition. As we all know, the tuition in some countries is very high and many talented students can’t afford it. I believe it would be better to offer them a loan without interest instead of allowing them to study for free. In this way, students may feel more stressful and have the motivation to improve their academic performances which may lead them to better job opportunities. If all poor students can get the chances to have free university education, maybe some of them would be lazy and reluctant to try their best to study. This behaviour may be seen as a way to waste the money get from the taxpayers.

In addition, developed countries may need more work force with high education. In our world, most of the high-technology companies locate in developed countries, so allowing people in these countries to get higher education may help the companies to find suitable candidate more easily. The job market is very competitive in these areas. To find a good job, one has to have a good commend of the skills needed. If it is that case, supporting students to get high education will make the economy in the country better in the long term.

However, in countries and regions which facing problems like hunger, poverty and insufficient job opportunities, governments may need to invest money in more important issues. For example, in China, many students graduated from university find it difficult to get a job suitable to his/her major. As a result, many of them will need to choose jobs unrelated to their interests and majors and some of them may be unable to find a job ever. In that case, allowing too many people to pursuing high education may not be the best choice because the work opportunities which only need people graduated from high school still can’t find sufficient work force. In some area, solving problems like poverty may help residents in these countries get enough food and even save more lives. In these kinds of countries, using precious money to help people to get high education may not be the best choice.

In conclusion, I believe that instead of free university education, it may be better for governments to support suitable loans to help poor students. In regions facing more essential problems, money should be spent to solve critical problems such as poverty and insufficiency of job opportunities.