The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

The author argues here that replacing butter with margarine in the restaurants throughout the Southwestern United States have had little impact on the customers. Stated in this way, the argument distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts and by providing weak evidences. To support this conclusion, the author notes that there has been little complaint by the customers. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s claim. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that 2 percent of customers complaining indicate that the other 98 percent of the people are happy with the change. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, the other 98 percent of the customers do not like margarine and are not happy but they simply do not like complaining. Instead of making a complaint, they may decide never to come back to the restaurant. Hence the authors explanation about the complaint would have been more convincing if it explicitly cited a carefully designed customer survey asking about their opinions about the change.

The author also points out that customers who asked for butter do not complain when given margarine instead, thus they must not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term ‘butter’ to refer to either butter or margarine. This again is a distorted view of the situation with unwarranted assumption. To illustrate, the customers may not complain again when given margarine instead because they simply do not like complaining. Or the customers when given margarine, they may be too annoyed to even bother asking again for butter which they explicitly asked for in the first place. If the argument had provided evidence that people cannot differentiate between butter and margarine, the memorandum would have left no room for alternative explanations.

Finally, the author’s claim relies on the analysis that not many people complain about the change. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, were there any other factors that changed in the restaurant at the same time? Did overall quality of the service or the taste of the food improve, which could have balanced out customer’s dissatisfaction relating to margarine? Was there any decrease in customers since the change? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence, which leaves room for alternate explanations.

In conclusion, the author’s memo is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey of customer satisfaction regarding the change from butter to margarine. Until substantiated information is provided, alternate explanations to the situation are apparent and even so more plausible.