The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine." Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author claim that butter changed from margarine has made people feel happy for some reasons. However, there are a few logical misleading problems.

First of all, the author assert that getting complaints from just 2 percent of customers means that about 98% of others satisfy the change. but it is the wrong idea. because just express nothing about it doesn't represent feeling happy. they might feel not want to make their mood or want to evade the conflict with the owner of the restaurant. so, the author needs kinds of clues what can show the number of the change of customers before changing to know how customers feel about the change.

Second, he tell us people doesn't make differences between butter and margarine. because they don't complain, although they ask for butter, and get margarine. but it can't explain how customers think of the change. In this case, they might be reticent or not want to make the conflict as I said. Also, some people don't know how butter differ to margarine. so, the author announce the change to customers with the information what is different between them.

Like all of above, the author makes misleading assumptions from customer's behaviours. so, knowing how they feel about the change, the author should collect another information as I wrote, and then analyse the situation.