The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the author concludes that using the margarine to exchange the butter had little impact on the customers. To justify this conclusion, the author points out that only 2 percent of the customers complained and many people were reported even haven't notice the displacement. I find it unpersuasive on several grounds.

Although just 2 percent of the consumers complained about the margarine, unfortunately, the author does not provide enough information to strengthen the validity and integrity of their conclusion. we can not know for sure that how they collect their statistics that, in all likelihood, possibly be chose by the restaurant carefully, which couldn't entirely reflect the truly result. In addition, even it is certainly just 2% people don't like this change, the author can not ensure that maybe a large part of the consumers complained about this in mind and just kindness or don't want some other troubling investments that would destroy their quiet lives, which engender the result that lots of people don't perfer to say it loud but, more probably, talk to their friends and faminlies. As a result, the restaurants can not receive many bad ideas from the customer. Accordingly, the author should present a deeply and thoroughly research to help diminish these assumptions.

In addition, this argument reveals the evidence that the complaints also didn't exist in number of the respondings of the customers from the servers report. Nevertheless, the servers report can be doubtful. For instance, the author fails to account for the possibility that servers have belies some of the blame for if they tell the truth, they may afraid of being cut off by the employer because of their uneffacious behavior couldn't lead to profitability in this company, which, be more seriously, they couldn't find a more lucrative occupation after being laid off. Therefore, they might give up the varacity of the survey for the stability of their job. So, to boost his or her argument, only thing the author could do is to find another institutions to make a validate and acceptable survey.

On the ground of the assumption of the manager of Happy Pancake House, the argument makes an unfair assumption that the margarine had little impact on customers. However, this statement can be truly unwarranted for the some reasons. The margarine may have some other influences that the consumers can not even know by themselves. From the author, we could not exclude the possibility that these customers may suffer from some serious diseases after years of consuming of the margarine before knowing that this replacement can be harmful towards their health. if the author does not afford accurate information discussed above, the logical lines would be probably unreliable for the purpose of drawing any conclusion.

In sum, the assertion is untenable in the light of the veracity and validity of the arguably survey, the author have to eliminate all the possibilities about the investigator and the customer declared above.