'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the statement of a memorandum, revenue of the television station decreases as they give more time in late night for news program rather than weather and local program. The manager of the station suggetsed that they should give same amount of the time to the local news and weather news as previously in order to secure similar revenue and increased viewer. The conclusion taken seems faulty as it is based on faulty assumptions.

To begin, it assumes that the business revenue will not be decreased if the same program is sheduled. However it fails to assume other circumstances which can be reasons for the decreased revenue. Perhaps, local business may have found other channel to advertise and they may also be cheap than this station for advertisement. if so, the taken conclusion of revenue increase will be failed to stand. Thus, the argument does not hold the water in this circumstances.

Secondly, the argument fails to take account of popularity of other rival televison program. if this is true, many viewers will be attracted to the other program and if it is the case, the viewer hardly divert their attention and see the station program and the popularity they seek to established will never be fulfilled. By not taking this assumption, the argument seems again insubstantial.

Thirdly, the argument never taken the fact that what is the number of viewer even if they compaint. what if the viewer complaint but, the viewer number rarely decreased. In this case, the projected plan will be futile as the station's program already had achieved their saturation and it will be pointless to forsee increase further viewer for the program. As the assumption does not consider again this fact, it makes the argument severly weak.

In conclusion, there are above certain facts they ignore while making conclusion on the argument making the argument unwarranted. The argument may seems valid if they had taken above fact for drawing conclusion.