The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

At first glance the recommendation might be looked like the absolute solution. But there are lack of proofs that present the sufficient cause to go back to the previous program form. Some assumptions have been made without enough evidence and consideration.

Budgeting less time to weather and local news has been considered main reason for complaints received from viewers. There is no proof of complaining due to short news time on weather and local news. The complaints may be of varied aspects about weather and local news. For example most of the complaints might be due to bad quality or irrelevant news presented. What type of complaints have been received should be analyzed before makin decision.This assumption weakens his recommendation.

Another assumption has been made that advertising contracts has been cancelled due to low budget time for weather and local news. This is not sufficiently true because the reasons for cancellation have not investigated. The local business might get another source where advertising might be more effective for their businees. Without considering reasons it is not wise to blame short duration of relative news presesntation.

The conclusion is not justified because returning the previous level dose not gauruntee the attraction of advertisers. The advertisers have not provide any clue that tells more local news time will attract them. So this recommendation might not be effective without investigating the advertisers expectation.

Same assumptions have been made without sufficient evidence. The reasons should be found out by proper analsys. Strong evidence are needed to support the conclusion made at last. The recommendation may be inefffective due to it's poor judgment of the problems.