The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author states that by devoting time back to local news and news, the advertising revenues will restore. The author came to this conclusion as according to him due to increasing the time to national news and giving less time to local news caused the local advertiser to cancel the advertisement. In order to evaluate the argument, it is required that 3 evidences are justified.

First of all, the author mentioned that complains were received by viewers was related to station’s coverage of the local news and weather, but never stated that there was some issue related to the national news. If the viewers had issue related to national news being broadcasted for longer time then, they might have related the same. For instance, if a viewer is not interested to watch national news at late-night programs, then he/she would have complained regarding the same, rather than complaining about the local news. Here it maybe that since local news and weather were not properly broadcasted rather than national news being the cause. If above scenario holds true then the validity of author’s argument stands flawed.

Secondly, the author stated that local advertisers cancelled the advertisement and reason for that is national news. It may be true that national news was not the reason behind the cancellation of the contracts, rather it could have been related to some misinformation or rather some inaccuracy in information shown in local and Weather news with shorter time slots or national news. For instance, by any chance some unverified news was broadcasted, this led to spread of misinformation and hence as a precautionary measure the advertisers have cancelled their contract. If above scenario is true then, authors’ argument holds not water and is weaken.

Thirdly, the author stated that once time devoted to weather returns to normal there will be increase in viewers watch time and advertisers will return. It may be true that the viewers have lost interest and have found other news channel far more interesting and so the advertisers want to have contract with those news channels rather than this. It may also be true that viewers and advertisers might have lost interest in the news channel. This scenario completely invalidates the author’s argument.

In conclusion, it can be stated that author’s argument is flawed and is weakened due lack of proper evidence. If author is able to provide evidence for above mentioned scenarios, then it would definitely help to properly evaluate the real cause.