'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The foremost and cardinal flaw is that he has not taken into consideration the reason behind the increase in time devoted for national news in the last year. The national news might have been given prime importance because of the demand of the viewers themselves and abating the allotted time for it, might badly affect their business. In addition, there is no prior analysis mentioned, which has led to such a situation.

Even if it assumed that it won't further disappoint the viewers, the second fallacy is the way their complaints are addressed. It has been mentioned that these complaints are related to the issues in the coverage of weather and local news. There is a possibility that the viewers are very much interested in such news and are, therefore, demanding for more accuracy in such news. This directly undermines the conclusion, again. Decreasing the allotted time for these genre of news might highly diminish their chances of attracting more viewers.

Moreover, presuming that the change in the devoted timings won't necessarily have an impact on the public responses, the assumption that the local businesses have rescinded their contracts because of the change in timings is another illogical act. There is no data or statistics mentioned about the factors that have led to this. Moreover, the businessmen should be contacted and probed about their reasons to terminate the contracts.

Thus, it can be stated that the syllogism has many discrepancies and specific evidences are quintessential to strengthen the argument of the business manager. These evidences should primarily include - statistics about why the decision was taken in the last year to change the allotted timings, statistical data about which shows do the viewers prefer and surveys of the businesses who ceased the contracts. The issues of these businessmen and the complaints of the viewers should be dealt with more sensitivity and concern and the final decision made, should encompass all the evidences and propose an ideal solution.

In order to recapitulate, it can be stated that a common foundation syllabus definitely help at both, an individual and national level. However, it will be more beneficial if the system is made more pliable after a certain stage, involving electives in addition to the main course, where students are given the choice to pursue the subjects of their own interest.