'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument provided is not entirely complete. It is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station and it talks about how from the past one year their late-night news program has lost considerable viewership. Additionally, it also states how local businesses have canced their advertising contracts with them. And finally, it has been suggested to make changes to their late-night news programs to avoid losing further viewership and advertising revenues. However, there are some evidences that are needed to evaluate this argument completely.

Firstly, it is required to know the reason behind viewers demanding spending more time on coverage of weather news. The reason can be the unpredicatble weather conditions in the country over the past year. The viewers would have obviously wanted to know more about climate change and its affects on the environment in a detailed way. They would have wanted to know more about the climatic conditions than just knowing the temperatures of different cities.

Secondly, it is important to understand how this change in coverage of local news has affected the local businesses. Local news used to provide the new changes and schemes made avilable by the businesses in the region. But since they were not getting much coverage from the past one year, they decided to stop promoting their businesses during late-night news program. They must have found it better to invest in other means for example, pamphlets, hoardings, newspaper advertisements.

Thirdly, awareness about happenings in one's region is equally important as being aware about the rest of the nation. People are provided with information about the whole country from newspapers and that too, in a very detailed way. Hence, local news during late-night news programs were an easy way for people to know about occurences in the local area. This could have been a big reason that forced the people to stop watching the news program.

The suggestion made by the business manager is totally correct. However, stating the above mentioned evidences would have made the argument stronger. It would have helped the television station in analyzing their mistakes and making amends for the future.