'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

The argument states that the increase in time devoted to weather and loacal news to its former level will avoid losing any further advertising revenues, to attract more viewers. However, this arguments fails to give the reasons or logical/calculated evidences to prove the argument is correct and if implemented this may even more reduce the revenue and number of viewers of the television station.

The argument initially states that late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news and continues with the consequences of this. This actually does not give information whether the actual time spent for weather and local news is reduced only in one particular program or in all other late-night news programs. This also does not give information of which program exactly we're and the amount of time spent before and reduced currently. So the argument here started with minimal information for drawing the conclusions on this statement.

Second statement states that during that particular time period of decreased time spent to weather and local news most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with thier station's coverage of weather and local news. But there exists no link in between the two statements as the business manager does not say which type of complaints were received in this time period. If the complains were about the time spent on coverage of weather and local news then increasing time to these two may resolve the problem. But if the complains that are reported are not about time spent for these news and is are actuallly about the quality and content fo the weather and local news, then by merely increasing the amount to time spent to show these news without increasing the quality of news may even worsen the condition of the news channel.

Similarly third statement of the argument states that local businesses also cancelled their agreement for advertising in the late-night news program. This again doesnot give any logical relation between the weather and local news and cancellation of local business advertisement contract cancellation. Local businesses may have cancelled the advertising contracts due to many other reasons such as:

1. Due to decrease in number of viewers of channel due to various reasons such as quality of content, sensor related issues, or due to some night event or festival going on in the area where television station has viewers.

2. Due to the losses in their own local business or closing of business because of any reasons.

3. They might have signed some other premium of peak hour advertising contracts already with the same television station and donot wish to continue late-night advertising.

4. Due to the competitive advertising prices as some other television stations may be providing the same with less cost.

5. Shifting to social media advertising or some other advertising that may be way more cheaper and effective.

The above all and even many more might be the reasons for cancellation of contract as business manager/ author does not specify exactly why the contract has been cancelled.

Hence, from the begining of the argument to the end of the conclusions to the argument author/business manager does not give the local relation between each statement and if the stated is implemented without doing further reasearch atleast as mentioned above, then there as many chances that the business will even more go down by loosing other advertising contracts and viewers to the television station.