The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The business manager of this television station makes some relevant statements about the state of the station's late-night news program. However, in order to convince decision-makers to increase time dedicated to weather and local news, the manager should elaborate on his or her points and make relevant connections to support his or her argument. As is, the current argument raises many unanswered questions that the manager should address in order to craft a more compelling memorandum.

First, the manager states that most of the complaints received by the station were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. There are at least two issues with this premise. First, the manager does not specify the nature of these complaints. Specifically, were these complaints directed towards a lack of time devoted to weather and local news or were they concerned with other areas of coverage? For example, these complaints could claim that the station is offering a skewed view of local news or that is only focusing on certain segments of local news but neglecting others. The second issue is that these complaints were aimed at the station's coverage in general and not necessarily the coverage of news offered by the late-night news program. Could this problem be fixed by increasing coverage during the day? And how many of these complaints are actually from viewers of the late-night program? In order to strengthen his or her argument, the manager should be more specific whilst describing the complaints received from viewers.

Second, the manager claims that local businesses that used to advertise during the late-night program have just canceled their advertising contracts with the station. However, a connection is not made between this premise and the issue of news coverage. What were the reasons for their cancellations? Was it due to lower viewership during the late-night program directly caused by the change in coverage model? Or, could it be due to confounding factors that have made the late-night advertising more costly or less appealing? Instead of offering a compelling connection, the author merely raises more questions about the reasons behind these recent cancellations.

Third, the author ends with the conclusion that "in order to attract more viewers and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level." This business manager offers very little statistics in supporting his or her arguments. Will restoring time devoted to the former level be sufficient to achieve more viewers and avoid losing advertising revenues? How do we know that it will attract more viewers and how do we know it will save revenues? The author does not answer these questions, nor does he or she assert that coverage has led to decreased viewership or that viewership has decreased at all.

Finally, in order to effectively convince decision-makers, the author should consider the original reasons for devoting increased time to national news in the first place and what, if any, benefits it has brought. Considering both sides of the argument and anticipating any counterarguments would make one's argument stronger.