The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As per a memorandum from a business manager of a television station, the station should restore the time for late-night weather and local news to attract more views and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues to its former level. This is based on the observation that complaints from the viewers about the coverage of weather and local news and the cancelation of advertising contracts for late night by the local business. Inorder to evaluate the argument completely the following three queries should be resolved first.

Firstly, the manager has assumed that the complains about the coverage of the weather and local news from the customers is about the removal of these news from the late night time slot, previously alloted for them. But, there is a possibility that customers are complaining about the quality of the local news and weather report that are being provided by the television station. There is also a possibility that the customer have actually complained for in-appropriate time of mid-night for weather and news as they prefer to watch them in day. If above assumption is true then it weakens the argument.

Secondly, the assumption is being made that local business have cancelled their late-night advertising contracts because of removal of local and weather news form he late-night time. Again, there is a flaw in this assumption as the local business could have cancelled their advertising contracts because, actually there are not many audiance for their advertisments at night. If this is true, it further weakens the argument to restore the time slot for the local news and the weather news at night.

Lastly, the television station manager has assumed that restoring the local news and weather news back to night time rather then national news will attract more viewers and prevent further advertising revenue loss. But, this possibility cannot be left unseen that viewers might actually want to watch local news and weather news in day time then night and local companies want to find much cheaper deals for advertising the ads to viewers.

Based on the above assumption made by the manager of the television station, it can be stated the the argument is flawed and cannot be accepted as such with out considering above mentioned factors.