The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to it's former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While the author makes some irrefutable conclusions on subject based on unsupported assumptions, he fails to explain the relationship between the complaints of viewers and the cancellation of advertising contracts by local businesses for a need to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to it's former level.

First, the author cites the complaints of viewers as an issue of concern being that they outnumbered the presumable amount of positive views without giving a statistics of the population and demographic data of the viewer (i.e what if the response were taken from a small sample of people with complaints whereas there is a wider range of sample with positive remarks not taken into consideration.

Additionally, the author makes several assumptions including the fact that since local businesses cancelled their contract it is due to reduced showing time and not for other factors which could be as a result of another new agency in competition with them that is luring local businesses with a better price range for advertisement.

Moreso, author fails to consider other concerns for the termination of contracts by local businesses which could include the increase of alternative sources of advertisement particularly through the internet which is taking over everything we do in the twenty-first century which covers a broader range of people as compared to news which fails to carter for the taste of youths.

In conclusion, the author's argument is weak because he/she fails to directly prove a relationship between the complaints by views and the termination of contracts with local businesses with the reduced show time.The argument would have been sound if he was able to prove with a robust survey that the specific reasons why local businesses cancelled their contract was due to a reduced show time on the late-night news program.