The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaint

The business manager has analysed that by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level to overcome the complaints received from viewers regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news.At the first glance this analysis and recommended solultion looks compelling but on further observation of the memorandum it can be said that this spurious information consists a lot of fallacies due to certain assumptions and dearth of facts.

Firstly the memorandum states that most of the complaints were regarding coverage of local and weather news.But we have no further information regarding the content of these complaints.It can be possible that the viewers are doubting the veracity of information provided by the station or they are not happy with the overall facts provided under this category.Had we known the facts circumventing these complaints we would have had a better lucid picture of the scenario.

Also we are told that the complaints were received during this period,but this doesnt directly imply that the viewers are not satisfied with the late night program.There are chances that the viewers are not happy with the overall coverage of the station and reporting the same at the end of the day when they get free from their busy schedules.In such a scenario the claim becomes void as the viewers have concerns with the overall coverage of weather and local news and not only late-night programs. If we had known that these complaints have a direct relation with the late night coverage timings or had the details of the complaint to juxtapox whether its quality issue that the viewers are facing or something else ; this assumption would have been more tractable.

In addition to this, we know that the local businesses that used to advertise with them have canceled their contracts..There would be steps required to restore the weather and local news coverage in the absence of former local-businesses.We do not have information regarding the approach to combat this situation

Moreover, the manager is assuming that by restoring the time devoted to these news to its former level they would attract more viewers.We have no statistics or survey results on the basis of which we can decide whether this restoration is the need of the viewers and by doing so the program would have more viewers.

The memorandum consists dearth of factual information regarding the content of complaints, whether this complaints are directly related to the late-night news program,the measures decided to be taken to replace the local-businesses.Apart from this it relies on assumptiion that restoring former timing would attract more viewres.Having said that this argument is weak due to faalc