The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of the television (tv) station concluded that to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, the tv station should restore the devoted time given to the weather and local news to its former level. Looking at this conclusion at first glance, one might agree with the manager. However, proper look into this conclusion shows that the manager needs evidence to support his reasons and strengthen his conclusion.

Firstly, the manager made use of ambiguous word "most" to represent the amount of complaints received. Without evidence of the precise number of complaints received, the manager's conclusion is flawed.

Secondly, the manger also made such conclusion because the local business that used to advertise during the late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contract. The manager failed to provide evidence of the reason the local business cancelled its contract. The local business might have cancelled the contract because of other reason, it might be that the local business now has a better deal at other tv station and felt to discontinue the contract. One cannot tell without this evidence not provided.

Additionally, the manger failed to provide evidence of the advantage the change has brought to the tv station. If the change had brought more advantage than the supposedly disadvantage, there will be no need to restore the devoted time to weather and local news. Without this evidence, the manger's conclusion is also flawed.

Also, the manger also gave a reason to restore the time devoted to weather and local news so as to attract more viewers. However, there is no evidence that there will be more viewers if the time is restored. For instance, viewers might have found new tv station that gives them the service they want and there will be no need for them to go back to the manger's station.

Conclusively, without these evidences provided, the conclusion of the business manager is flawed.