The following memorandum is from the Media Director of the Athletic Department at Burtsdale University:

“We have decided to recommend that the school no longer offer free student access to University athletic events, regardless of level, sport, or gender of the participants. Our policy in the past has been to sell tickets only to events with significant popularity, such as men’s Division I football and basketball games, and other nationally televised events. Although other sports do not typically sell out, or generate the same level of interest outside the student body, we feel it is unfair to Division II sports and the women’s teams not to charge admission to their events as well. Charging admission to all events is the only way to treat all athletic teams equitably.”

Write a response in which you describe what specific examples or evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and how those examples or evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The Media Director of the Athletic Department at Burtsdale University claims that charging admissions to all events is the only way to treat all athletic teams equitably. He supports this by pointing out that the university charges admissions for events with significant popularity and feels that it is unfair to Division II sports or women’s teams. His jump in reasoning has left multiple assumptions and questions unanswered. The director will need to provide more reasoning and evidence before we can evaluate the validity of his argument.

First and foremost, is this what student athletes want? If the proposed strategy truly has the students’ best interests in mind, we will need to hear from the students themselves. The director should carry out a survey among the student athletes of Burtsdale University and provide the data from that survey to us. If the survey shows that this is a legitimate concern among Division II sports athletes and women athletes, a proposal to address this inequality warrants more merit. Moreover, do student athletes believe that charging for admissions into sporting events truly level the playing field and make athletic teams more equitable? Would they instead feel that more funding and better facilities or equipment would be a better move in the path towards fairness and equitability? The media director of the athletic department needs to provide hard and concrete data to back his claims to ensure that this is a problem that we should address and his proposed strategy is the best way to move forward.

Furthermore, additional evidence needs to be provided on the potential effects of charging admission to all athletic events. Specifically, we need to evaluate whether there will be an adverse effect to the attendance of Division II sporting events and women’s sporting events. As the director himself pointed out, the university sells tickets to events with significant popularity, while other sports do not typically sell out. This fits basic economic theories, as prices go up when demand is high, while prices go down when demand is low. By charging admission to less popular sports, how will this impact student participation and attendance? The most likely scenario to happen is that students will be less inclined to attend such sporting events since they will now need to pay to attend something that was previously free-of-charge. Additionally, how will a decrease in fans affect athletes who play Division II sports or play on women’s teams? If the director can provide data that the student body would not be put off by the ticket charge and that attendance can stay the same, or that student athletes’ mentalities will not be adversely impacted by a low turnout, there will be more merit to his argument.

Last but not least, the director needs to answer a very important question: how will charging for events treat all athletic teams more equitably? While student advocates have made large strides in the past year, most NCAA athletes do not earn a profit while playing for their school team. The director needs to provide proof that students truly believe that charging admissions to all events make teams more equitable. Additionally, the director needs to lay out how the new income will be invested to ensure teams that athletic teams are treated more equitably. Will this additional income be pocketed by the university, or would the income be redirected into the sports that require more funding and investment? If the director can lay out detailed explanations as to how this policy change will make athletic teams more equitable, and show that the income will be used to benefit and fund student athletes from unpopular teams, his cliam will be strengthened.

In conclusion, there are various examples and evidence the media director needs to provide before we can fully assess his policy change. If he can provide more data or insights into student athletes’ feelings, the impact of charging admissions to all events, how the new income will be diverted, as well as whether this can truly fix the inequality problem, we can then give his argument more serious thought.