The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum contains the decision of Mayor Harrison Smith to make a subway, spending a huge amount of money - to reduce the traffic congestion as well as to improve the economy of the city of Briggsville. Although the mayor has been sound in his logical argument, however, it might be a bit hasty to come to a conclusion based on the assumptions of the arguments, afflicted with implicated logical flaws.

To begin with - the mayor believed that providing the subway in the downtown areas will increase both the availability and safety of the bus-travellers. But what if that is not the case. As there is not enough necessary informations regarding the routes of the buses mentioned in the prompt, it might be supposed that the routes of the buses are not different from the vehicles that are still on the highway. That is to say, both of these vehicles actually follow the same paths to their destinations because of unavailability of different routes. In that case - the concept of building a subway will nothing but make the destination a more tortuitose one.

Secondly - it is assumed by the mayor that the buses will surely take the subway to leave their passengers to their respective destinations. He is missing the points that what if the bus drivers are more inclined to serve the passenegers of the municipal areas than to the passenegers of downtown area - may be in order to earn more profit or various reasons. Subsidiry to this - there is no obliogation for the drivers to take the subway rote mentioned in the passage. So, it might not be a bad idea actually to suspect the proclivity of the bus drivers to avoid the subway route in earn better.

Also the assumption that - building the subway for sufficient movement of traffic will increase the security of the passenegers - might be a placebo to the regards of the traffic problem. More prominent reason might be that - because of a new route many buses will be available to serve their purposes and ultimately cause traffic jam to that route too - which is quite a possible problem to spot out as soon as the subway is built. As a result, the urgency of the people to take on their respective buses to reach their destinations will also jump. This increment will result in an unhealthy competition among the people to board into the buses before others - which might be a major cause for the physical harms of many passenegers, violatiing the safety measures. Apart from this part - even if it is supposed that only calculated number of buses are there in the subway - what is probability of higher safety if proper timing or schedule is not maintained for better travelling. It is nevertheless true for places like downtowns where the population density is less and thereby incite many to commit criminal activities.

So, looking at overall ideas, logical reasoniong and critical remarks - it might be better idea to take into account proper and much more speculations of the deciding factors and purposes before coming to any conclusion as the prompt lacks the answers of many questions; important for the clarifications of the assumptions of the Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.