The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

The passage gives the notion that once a subway is developed and travel time is reduced worker productivity will improve and therefore the economy will improve. Although there are many transport issues plaguing the city as specified by the author, we are deprived of enough evidence to judge the feasibility of the multi-million dollar subway system. This argument hinges on various unstated assumptions, the veracity of which must be explored in order to solidify the argument.

Firstly we are told that the subway will run through major downtown areas of the city. However, no information is given on whether the downtown area is traffic heavy or not. The author also assumes that the downtown area is where most of the productive work of the city takes place. However, it is entirely possible that the downtown area is filled with small shops and gardens, etc. which have no significant contribution to the economy of the town. It is also possible that the downtown area doesn’t have much congestion and developing a subway there could cause congestion as well as financial losses due to lack of usage by the public.

Next, the author speaks vaguely about the inconsistency and unsafety of the buses that are already running. There has been no evidence to back the assumption that the trains will be safer than the existing buses. Further trains running twenty-four hours a day could well be a waste of money, especially at night or even during times like midday when everyone is busy working. Running a train that is designed for 200 people for just 5-10 passengers is not a big financial loss but also contributes to unnecessary pollution which can cause workers to fall sick and thereby become counterproductive to the town.

Thirdly there has been an assumption that the workers usually come on bikes. There is a huge possibility that the workers actually own cars. It is also possible that the workers prefer the comforts of the car rather than breaking their backs in crowded trains. There hasn’t been any survey nor is a shred of evidence provided that the motorist and even the workers using buses will switch to trains once they start running. If a majority of workers decide against using the subway system, this project could be a huge loss to the economy.

Lastly, the author has made a correlation that people who spend less time in traffic have higher worker productivity. Further, it assumes that higher worker productivity will improve the economy of the town. Both these points are not supported by any evidence, past data, or relevant study. There is a high probability that other negative factors are impeding the increase in worker productivity.

To conclude, the benefits that can be bought forth by a new all-day round subway system are innumerable as mentioned in the above passage. However, the assumptions made and the correlations drawn are unwarranted and baseless with no evidence being cited. Without accessing all the data, the validity of the argument cannot be established and therefore the feasibility of this new subway system cannot be justified.